On Air Personality

Yonaka Theledi

Let's connect:

Show(s):

Yonaka Theledi is a budding broadcaster who was born and raised in Gauteng.

YONAKA THELEDI

News presenter

Show(s):

News: 5 Weekend Afternoons, Saturday & Sunday, 2 to 6 p.m.

Social Handles:

Twitter: @Yonaka_Theledi

Instagram: @yb_theledi

BRIEFLY:

Yonaka Theledi joined 5FM in May 2022.

She is a budding broadcaster who was born and raised in Gauteng. Her love for the industry started at a young age. Around the early ages of 6 and 7, she would read the newspaper out loud to her mother. In 2020, as she started her academic career at the University of the Witwatersrand in Theatre and Performance, she also started volunteering at the campus radio station (Voice of Wits FM) as a News Reader and News Compiler.

During hard lockdown, she was able to hone her craft from home and receive the 2020 News Reader of the Year Award at the campus station’s annual awards.

In 2021 Yonaka co-hosted the Weekend Breakfast Show at the campus radio station and, within a year, was awarded the opportunity to become Voice of the Station in 2022.

Holding the position for but a second, Yonaka’s broadcasting journey led her to 5FM.

QUICKFIRE Q&A:

If you had to sum up yourself in 10 seconds, what would you say?

I’m a free-spirited being curious about everything and wanting to inspire along the way.

Where were you born and raised?

I was born and raised in Gauteng.

In which towns have you lived and where are you living currently?

I’ve lived in Lindthaven, Pimville, Central Western Jabavu, Belfast, Waterval Boven and Kagiso.

Which languages can you speak?

English, Afrikaans, Sotho, Zulu, Tshwana and Pedi.

What are your favourite towns or cities visited in SA and abroad?

Durban and Stellenbosch are my favourites.

What are your hobbies?

My hobbies include reading, as well as writing and listening to music, radio & podcasts.

What is the craziest thing you’ve done?

The craziest, yet most calculated thing I’ve ever done was the big hair chop (twice!). I had locks for 8 years, cut those for various reasons, grew my hair out again, only to chop it off to save on maintenance costs and time.

Which pets do you have, if any?

I have no pets, but I will be getting some cacti soon. Yes, multiple desert plants. (Note: not auto corrected!)

What’ll Google say you search for most often?

Sports fixtures and nail inspiration pictures.

5 famous people, living or not, that you would have a kuier with?

Bob Marley, Kendrick Lamar, Rihanna, Chris Hani and Sri Swami Vishwananda.

Favourite movies and / or series of all time?

Friends, Grace and Frankie, Blank Panther, Shrek (1, 2 & 3), Igby Goes Down, Chicago, Regular Show and Bob’s Burgers.

Describe your home’s interior style?

I live at a student accommodation at the moment. So, my room is an open plan flatlet with an ensuite. I just have some pictures of Bob Marley, some pictures of plants and LED lights for vibes.

Which hash tags best describe your fashion sense?

#Basic, #Neutral, #Comfortable, #Casual and #Practical.

What is your ideal holiday, described in one line?

A trip to a resort with my family.

Which things would you most want to learn to do?

I would like to learn how to do everything behind the scenes in broadcasting.

A hidden talent that you could probably get paid for:

My music selecting abilities.

If you could have one superpower, what would it be?

If I could have one superpower it would be the ability to be in multiple places at once.

Which sports, if any, do you watch?

I enjoy watching synchronised swimming (just because it looks cool) and soccer.

Which causes are you really passionate about?

It’s difficult to say! I’ve volunteered for various causes including at an animal shelter and home for orphaned children. I am passionate about any cause that supports those who need assistance.

What are the top things on your bucket list?

Visit Budapest, have 8 children, open a production list, get an advanced driver’s license and buy a building.

Which things in the world (and people) do you dislike?

I don’t like sweet vegetables and judgmental people.

Which things make the world (and people) awesome?

Laughter, babies, music, plants, spicy food, the love of family.

What’s your favourite thing about your 5FM gig?

I get to connect with my younger self and tell the stories of the nation.

All Personalities

Web Content Viewer (JSR 286)

Actions
Loading...