On Air Personality

Marli van Eeden

Let's connect:


Marli is passionate about education and is currently studying towards her Masters degree in Journalism at the Stellenbosch University, with Political Science as an extra subject.


Traffic Reporter | Writer | Lecturer | Voice over artist


Traffic: 5 Breakfast, Monday to Friday from 6 to 9 a.m.

Social Handles:

Instagram: @marli.vaneeden

Twitter: @marli_vaneeden


Marli joined 5FM in March 2021.

She is passionate about education and recently obtained her Master’s degree in Journalism at Stellenbosch University. She previously completed her Honours degree in Journalism, as well as her Honours degree in Drama and Theatre studies, specialising in Applied Theatre. She also completed her undergraduate degree in Drama and Theatre Studies, with Afrikaans & Dutch and Psychology as extra subjects – all through Stellenbosch University.

Marli’s radio experience includes working for campus radio station Mfm 92.6 as a news reader, presenter, voice over artist and MC; as well as community radio station Radio Helderberg in Somerset West as a news reader and presenter. She was nominated for a Radio Award in 2020.

She also works as a freelance writer for multiple online and print publications and has PR, social media, and marketing experience, working for an arts festival in Stellenbosch.

In 2023 she started a new journey as a lecturer at Boston Media House, a division of Boston City Campus.

Marli has a keen interest in leadership development, and during her years as a full-time student at Stellenbosch University, she was involved in various campus leadership positions, as well as campus politics. She is also passionate about social impact and contributing to community outreach projects.



Where were you born and raised?

I was born and raised in Bellville, in the Northern suburbs of Cape Town.

In which towns have you lived and where are you living currently?

During my studies at Stellenbosch University, I lived in Stellenbosch. I also lived in Strand for a couple of years whilst I was working and busy studying towards my Master’s. I currently live in Johannesburg.

Which languages can you speak?

My home language is Afrikaans and I also speak English. I took Dutch as a subject at varsity and can read and understand it. I also understand (very) basic Xhosa, as I had Xhosa as a school subject and also completed a Xhosa short course at varsity.

What are your favourite towns or cities visited in SA and abroad?

I love traveling through South Africa and exploring our beautiful country. My favourite place in South Africa is definitely the Karoo.

What are your hobbies?

I enjoy reading, learning about history by visiting museums and historical sites, playing chess, hiking and running. I also love traveling and visiting arts festivals and art galleries.

What is the craziest thing you’ve done?

Well, I got a phone call from 5FM which turned my life upside down - I quit my job in Cape Town, interrupted my studies, said goodbye to my friends and family, packed up my whole life in Cape Town and moved to Johannesburg within three weeks. I don’t regret it one bit!

Which pets do you have, if any?

I don't have any pets at the moment, but I do regard my parents' two cats as my own pets. I love cats! I used to foster kittens back in Cape Town, and I would definitely want to get back into it now that I have settled in Johannesburg.

What’ll Google say you search for most often?

Since I think I can do anything on my own, it would definitely be DIY tips and tricks!

Describe your home’s interior style?

I am quite sentimental, so there are a lot of photos of my family and friends in my home. I also have an obsession with scatter cushions, so I have way too many of them.

Which hash tags best describe your fashion sense?

Since I work on the 5 Breakfast show, I need to get up super early (plus I am actually not a morning person!) so this usually means I practically live in comfy sweatpants - so I would say #comfy #sweatpants #laidback

What is your ideal holiday, described in one line?

Somewhere at the seaside or the bushveld.

Which things would you most want to learn to do?

I would love to learn how to play the piano!

If you could have one superpower, what would it be?

I would love to be able to fly or be invisible.

Which sports, if any, do you watch?

When I was growing up, my dad used to watch F1, so that is one sport I also sometimes watch. I also watch a bit of tennis and rugby - I love a good rugby kuier!

Which causes are you really passionate about?

I am passionate about advocating for mental health and raising awareness about mental illness. I am also passionate about advocating for animal rights.

What are the top things on your bucket list?

I would love to travel to every country in Africa.

Which things make the world (and people) awesome?

Kindness, compassion and humility.

What’s your favourite thing about your 5FM gig?

The amazing people I get to work with!

All Personalities

Web Content Viewer (JSR 286)