On Air Personality

Jude van Wyk

Let's connect:


Weekend Sports Presenter


Radio sports presenter | Gamer | Casual football player


Sport: 5 Drive, Monday to Friday, 3 to 6 p.m.

Social Handles:

Instagram & Twitter: @hisnameisjude

TikTok: @hisnameisjudetoo 


Jude joined 5FM in May 2014.

He started in the Radio industry in 2012 and worked at Eldos FM in Eldorado Park, South of Joburg.

He later attended the Wits Radio Academy in 2013, completing a certificate in Radio Studies before joining 5FM.


If you had to sum up yourself in 10 seconds, what would you say?

I'm a super chilled guy. It takes a lot to get me upset, except sometimes when Chelsea FC lose a game.

Where were you born and raised?

I was born in Cape Town and raised in Johannesburg.

In which towns have you lived and where are you living currently?

I have lived in Joburg all my life.

Which languages can you speak?

I speak English and understand Afrikaans. If you speak Afrikaans to me, I will respond in English.

What are your favourite towns or cities visited in SA and abroad?

In SA, Sodwana and Cape Town are my favourites. Abroad: London, Amsterdam and Swakopmund, Namibia.

What are your hobbies?

I play PS a lot and also play 5 a side football.

What is the craziest thing you’ve done?

I've gone skydiving and also bungee jumped straight after doing a sports bulletin.

Which pets do you have, if any?

I have a dog. Her name is Pebbles.

What’ll Google say you search for most often?

It'll probably bring up a lot of sports news websites. I keep up with sports in general, even outside of work.

5 famous people, living or not, that you would have a kuier with?

Snoop Dogg, Seth Rogan, Benni McCarthy, Chelsea player Kai Havertz, and Chelsea legend Didier Drogba.

Favourite movies and / or series of all time?

Breaking Bad.

Describe your home’s interior style?

Very simple, but with plenty of African art.

Which hash tags best describe your fashion sense?

#BucketHat #footballshirt #Short&t-shirt #NoOpenShoes #blue

What is your ideal holiday, described in one line?

Beachside, or London for football.

Which things would you most want to learn to do?

Speak another language. I love the way Xhosa sounds.

A hidden talent that you could probably get paid for:

I used to DJ, but stopped when my music collection got lost.

If you could have one superpower, what would it be?

Definitely teleportation.

Which sports, if any, do you watch?

Haha! Football, cricket, rugby, MotoGP, F1… anything with South Africans involved.

Which causes are you really passionate about?

I love animals, anything to help the animals.

What are the top things on your bucket list?

Attend a Champions League final, or a World Cup final, or watch a MotoGP race live. 

Which things in the world (and people) do you dislike?

Anyone that has to do with Tottenham and Arsenal!

Which things make the world (and people) awesome?

Smiling and being kind. Those things cost nothing to do and make the world a better place.

What’s your favourite thing about your 5FM gig?

I get to talk about and give opinions on something I enjoy in general life: sports.

All Personalities

Web Content Viewer (JSR 286)