On Air Personality

Monique de Villiers

Let's connect:


Monique de Villiers


News Reader | Writer | Team Leader


News: 5 Weekend Breakfast, Saturday and Sunday, 7 to 10 a.m.

Social Handles:

Instagram: @coolerthanmonday

Twitter: @thisismon_dv


Monique joined 5FM in April 2022.

She graduated with her BA Social Dynamics in 2016 and in the same year started working at MFM, a campus/community station in Stellenbosch until March 2020. Her time there included news reading, hosting various daytime shows as well leading the news team as the News Editor. During the same time, she secured a spot at PEP’s radio station, FeelGood FM where she stayed for 3 years.

In September 2020 she moved to Johannesburg to help run her mom’s interior design company where she spends most of her time as a project manager and team leader. 


If you had to sum up yourself in 10 seconds, what would you say?

I like to live my life with an inquisitive mind, an open heart and with the possibility of a spontaneous dance party taking place at any moment. 

Where were you born and raised?

I was born in Durban but raised in the northern suburbs of Johannesburg since I was 2 years old.

In which towns have you lived and where are you living currently?

I’ve lived in Roodepoort, Stellenbosch and Somerset West. Currently staying in Roodepoort.

Which languages can you speak?

English and Afrikaans.

What are your favourite towns or cities visited in SA and abroad?

I’ve unfortunately never left the country but in South Africa - Stellenbosch and Franschhoek have my heart as well as the Blyde River Canyon in Mpumalanga.

What are your hobbies?

Yoga, reading, writing poetry, creating and editing video content.

What is the craziest thing you’ve done?

Hunted down an alleged paedophile in my complex!

Which pets do you have, if any?

2 cats, both of them rescues - 1 chunky ginger cat named Jake and a white kitten named Rayla.

What’ll Google say you search for most often?

The pronunciation of words or ‘One Day Only’.

5 famous people, living or not, that you would have a kuier with?

Taylor Swift, Sophia Bush, Khloe Kardashian, Zendaya, Lady Gaga.

Favourite movies and / or series of all time?

Moulin Rouge, One tree hill, Haunting of hill House/Bly Manor & New girl.

Describe your home’s interior style?

Bohemian mixed with Scandinavian. Altogether modern with lots of houseplants.

Which hash tags best describe your fashion sense?

#steezy #loudearrings #colourful #casual #constantlychanging.

What is your ideal holiday, described in one line?

Somewhere warm and scenic with my favourite people and a beer in hand.

Which things would you most want to learn to do?

How to master my vocals for singing. Dancing. To speak another language.

A hidden talent that you could probably get paid for:

Writing pretty decent poetry within 10 minutes.

If you could have one superpower, what would it be?

The ability to take away people’s stress/anxiety (including my own) with a simple touch.

Which sports, if any, do you watch?

I don’t watch sports but have enjoyed watching professional hockey once or twice.

Which causes are you really passionate about?

Mental health awareness, environmentalism and ending gender-based violence.

What are the top things on your bucket list?

See the Northern lights, travel through Europe alone, master the headstand in yoga, publish a poetry book.

Which things in the world (and people) do you dislike?

I dislike people acting with entitlement, social media, war, the senseless killing of animals and destruction of forests.

Which things make the world (and people) awesome?

People's ability to create beautiful, inspiring things. Be it through art, speech, technology etc. The innocence of a newborn baby and watching them grow and learn. Animals and their loyalty. Nature in all its forms.

What’s your favourite thing about your 5FM gig?

The people I have met and am yet to meet.

All Personalities

Web Content Viewer (JSR 286)