On Air Personality

Stephanie B

Let's connect:


Proud Capetonian, DJ Stephanie B, is not only taking over the airways but is also an avid petrol head, soccer enthusiast and loves discussing topics one would feel awkward talking about with their parents.


Radio Presenter | MC | DJ | Music Compiler

Host: 5 Mid Mornings - Monday to Friday, 9 a.m. to midday.

Social Handles:



Stephanie Be started with 5FM in April 2014.

She started her radio career at MFM (campus radio station at Stellenbosch University) while studying an LLB, and then a BCom. After a short stint in campus radio, she was offered a slot at 5FM’s sister radio station in Cape Town, Good Hope FM. Steph also started her DJ career in Stellenbosch, blazing up the decks at Catwalk, Nubar, and the now closed down Tollies.

It wasn’t long before 5FM reached out and imported Steph from Cape Town to Joburg to join the 5 family. She started out on weekday evenings, holding it down between 10 p.m. and 1 a.m., introducing South Africa to the newest unsigned artists from South Africa and around the world. The local Top 10 at 10 was a fan favourite and gave a great many South African artists the chance to have their music played on a commercial radio station for the first time.

After this, she moved to the mid-morning slot, which has been consistently growing in popularity.


Where were you born and raised?

Oranjezicht, Cape Town, the Mother City! But I consider Stellenbosch home as well.

In which towns have you lived and where are you living currently?

Cape Town and Stellenbosch, currently in Johannesburg.

Which languages can you speak?

English and Afrikaans, but if you throw me some Dutch or German text, I can read it.

What are your favourite towns or cities visited in SA and abroad?

I have too many. I travel a lot, it’s definitely a priority for me! Locally, I am in love with the Cederberg, as well as Montagu in the Western Cape. As for the rest of the country, I think the entire area from Mbombela in Mpumalanga up North to Musina in Limpopo is stunning. I’ve spent loads of time in Hoedspruit, White River, Pilgrim’s Rest, Tzaneen and that entire area bordering on the Kruger National Park.

Internationally, I’ve been fortunate enough to visit quite a bit of Europe, Asia and South America, but my all-time favourite is the USA. I’ve hiked in loads of the National Parks - Yosemite, Zion, Bryce Canyon, Smokey Mountains, and so many more. I even got engaged on a Native American Reservation on the border of Arizona and Utah!

What are your hobbies?

I’m a pretty serious hobby photographer! I’ve always had an interest in photography, specifically travel and portraits. I absolutely love taking beautiful photos of my friends. I’m also a big gamer, both on console and mobile. My favourites are open world third person shooters like Red Dead Redemption, Unchartered, Assassin’s Creed, etc. I dabble in the odd battle royale style game too, my favourite being PubG!

Which pets do you have, if any?

So, I was recently adopted by a feral cat and her baby. I’d been feeding this wild cat that lived in my complex for a few months, when just before Christmas she brought me her kitten. Both mom and baby are very wild, but I spent months building trust, and showing them that they were safe. The baby (Noelle) is now pretty tame and spends most evenings napping on my couch or in my lap trying to climb on top of my laptop.

What’ll Google say you search for most often?

Probably directions! I can’t live without my Google Maps, and I’m constantly checking directions to random places.

5 famous people, living or not, that you would have a kuier with?

Khalid, so I can propose in person! Taylor Swift, so that we can finally fulfil our destiny of becoming best friends. Warren Buffet, I just feel like I have so much to learn from him. Ursula von der Leyen, the president of the European Commission who has worked so incredibly hard to get to where she is. She could definitely give me some great advice. Finally, Tyler Henry, the Hollywood medium - I want to really dive into his gifts and see what he can tell me about my ancestors.

Favourite movies and / or series of all time?

I’m obsessed with Rupaul’s Drag Race, and all of the offshoots of the original, like Drag Race UK, All Stars, etc. My all-time faves are: Parks and Rec, The Office, Gilmore Girls, and Schitt’s Creek (I’ve been told that I remind people of Alexis).

Describe your home’s interior style?

Comfy and cosy! Comfort and cosiness above all else.

Which hash tags best describe your fashion sense?

#hyperfeminine #soft #contradictory #noheels #nojeans

What is your ideal holiday, described in one line?

Road tripping and being outdoors/hiking in beautiful weather with someone I love.

Which things would you most want to learn to do?

I’d love to get over my fear of horses and to learn how to ride a horse! I would also love to learn how to surf, play a new instrument, speak Spanish, and I could definitely go for some archery lessons.

A hidden talent that you could probably get paid for:

I’m hypermobile/double jointed, so I could probably join the circus. I’m also a baby whisperer, so I think I’d make a great au pair.

If you could have one superpower, what would it be?

To read minds for sure!

Which sports, if any, do you watch?

I’m into football/soccer, and then strangely enough, competitive gymnastics.

Which causes are you really passionate about?

Education for all, reproductive health, and animals.

What are the top things on your bucket list?

I have a bucket list that’s almost never-ending, I feel like I’m constantly adding things to it. There are still some iconic hikes around the world that I would love to do! Other than that, we don’t have time to talk about them all!

Which things in the world (and people) do you dislike?

Willful ignorance!

Which things make the world (and people) awesome?


What’s your favourite thing about your 5FM gig?

Getting to be a small part of so many South Africans’ lives and building relationships with all of them. I also love breaking new music and making memories with my 5FM family.



All Personalities

Web Content Viewer (JSR 286)